Awards and Recognition

The 2016 Nursing Excellence Award recipients at the annual Nursing Excellence Awards Ceremony.

The University of Chicago Medicine acknowledges the excellence of its nursing staff by presenting 12 awards during National Nurses Week. These awards recognize staff nurses who:

  • Exhibit excellence in nursing practice as evidenced by a comprehensive assessment of each patient’s unique needs and the development and implementation of a personalized plan of care to meet those needs
  • Excel at demonstrating family-centered care
  • Serve as a role model of professional practice for peers, new employees and students
  • Contribute positively to the professional practice environment


Read more about the recipients of our Nursing Awards

See the DAISY Awards slideshow

About the James Queenan Award for Excellence in Nursing

James Queenan was a young man diagnosed with Ewings’s Sarcoma, a malignancy of the bone and soft tissue. He received his chemotherapy treatments and supportive care at the University of Chicago Children’s Hospital. He unfortunately died of his disease in 1988 at the age of 22. In James’s memory, his parents established an award in recognition of the wonderful care and support he and his family received from the nursing staff during his illness.

2016 Recipients
Samantha Wroblewski, BSN, RN, RNC
Marianne Banas, MSN, RN

About the Patricia Morgan Award for Excellence in Oncology Nursing

The Patricia Morgan Award, established in memory of Patricia Morgan, recognizes excellence in oncology nursing practice. Patricia Morgan was a nurse who eventually succumbed to her cancer. Patricia always felt strongly that nurses should be recognized for their excellence and hard work, and her family concurs with this. The recipient of this award is an oncology nurse who exemplifies excellence in patient/family care and who is a mentor to less experienced nurses. The Morgan family started this award in 1992 in Patricia’s memory, and it is presented every year during nurses’ week.

2016 Recipient
Gretchen Tuzik, BSN, RN

About the Award for Nursing Excellence in a Leadership Role

The Award for Nursing Excellence in a Leadership Role recognizes a nursing leader at the University of Chicago who:

  • Exhibits excellence in nursing practice as evidenced by holding a certification in their specialty, and attending continuing education based on their specialty
  • Has developed or implemented operational improvements (unit or hospital based) to meet the diverse needs of patients and their families
  • Serves as a role model of professional practice for peers, new employees and students
  • Contributes to the nursing profession at large by participation in specialty nursing organizations, publishing, and presenting QI/research activities
  • Has improved retention rates, or increased recruitment of staff on their unit

2016 Recipient
Pamela Jones, MSN, RN

Award Recipients

All 2016 Nursing Award recipients were nominated by their nursing peers or their manager. Each one has demonstrated care and compassion to patients and families and exemplifies excellence in nursing practice.

Award for Nursing Excellence in an Adult Inpatient Area

Roxanne Linklater, BSN, RN

Award for Nursing Excellence in an Outpatient Area

Elizabeth Anderson, BSN, RN, CRN

Award for Nursing Excellence in a Pediatric Inpatient Area

Kristin Simon, BSN, RN

Award for Nursing Excellence in a Specialty Role

David Geary, MSN, RN, OCN

Brittany McKinney “Remember Me” Award for Excellence in Pediatric Oncology Nursing

Michael Manion, MSN, RN, CPNP, CPHON

Constance E. Staffelino Award for Excellence in Transplant Nursing Practice

Mary Beth McNamara, RN

Mark and Nanciann Huening Award for Excellence in Medical Intensive Care Nursing

Rae McGrath, BSN, RN

Sylvia Watson Award for Excellence in Ambulatory Oncology Nursing

Kenisha Allen, BSN, RN, OCN

TORCH Team Award

Pediatric Sedation Service